The President's “E” and “E Star” Awards

The President's “E” Award was created by Executive Order of the President to afford suitable recognition to persons, firms, or organizations which contribute significantly in the effort to increase United States exports.

The President's “E Star” Award, which was authorized by the Secretary of Commerce, affords continuing recognition of noteworthy export promotion efforts.

Winners of the “E” and “E Star” Award are authorized to fly the blue and white banner, to display the accompanying certificate of commendation which is signed by the Secretary of Commerce in the name and by the authority of the President, to wear and issue to employees an “E” or “E Star” lapel pin, and to refer to the award in their advertising.

History of the “E” Awards

During World War II, more than 4,000 ”E” Pennants were presented to war plants in recognition of production excellence. The famous flag with the big “E” emblazoned on it became a badge of patriotism in action.

President Kennedy revived the World War II “E” symbol of excellence to honor and provide recognition to America's exporters. Thus, the “E” Award Program was established by Executive Order 10978 on December 5, 1961. The “E Star” was authorized in l969 to recognize “E” Award winners for continued efforts in export expansion.

The application period for the 2014 President’s “E” and “E Star” Awards is now closed. The application period for the 2015 Awards will open in November 2014.

On May 28th, 2014 Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker presented the 2014 President’s “E” and “E Star” Awards.

“E” Award for Exports

  • Global Organics – Goodyear, Ariz.
  • Knesek Guns, Inc. – Van Buren, Ark.
  • Arch Foods – Hayward, Calif.
  • Robinson Pharma, Inc. – Santa Ana, Calif.
  • Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP – San Francisco, Calif.
  • Icelantic Skis – Denver, Colo.
  • Shotcrete Technologies, Inc. – Idaho Springs, Colo.
  • Cooper-Atkins Corporation – Middlefield, Conn.
  • GS-Tek – Newark, Del.
  • ILC Dover LP – Frederica, Del.
  • Concept II Cosmetics – Miami, Fla.
  • Genicon – Winter Park, Fla.
  • IMS Dredges, New Richmond, Wisc.
  • Pioneer Equipment Company – Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Vogue International – Clearwater, Fla.
  • Nordson-Swainsboro Manufacturing Plant – Swainsboro, Ga.
  • SASCO Chemical Group, Inc. – Albany, Ga.
  • Kuder, Inc. – Adel, Iowa
  • FoodSource Inc. – Willowbrook, Ill.
  • Simmons Engineering Corporation – Wheeling, Ill.
  • Amatrol, Inc. – Jeffersonville, Ind.
  • Pioneer Balloon Company – Wichita, Kan. 
  • ISCO Industries, Inc. – Louisville, Ky.
  • SPF Depot – Bossier City, La.
  • Diamond Machining Technology – Marlborough, Mass.
  • Dhake Industries – Plymouth, Mich.
  • Rugged Linear Inc. – Owosso, Mich.
  • Horton Inc. – Roseville, Minn.
  • Magellan Aviation Group – Charlotte, N.C.
  • Hoffman International, Inc. – Piscataway, N.J.
  • NOSHOK, Inc. – Berea, Ohio
  • Sentry Protection Products, LLC – Lakewood, Ohio
  • Allied Wire & Cablle, Inc. – Collegeville, Pa.
  • Ancillare, LP – Horsham, Pa.
  • Werner Co. – Greenville, Pa.
  • Pharma-Bio Serv PR, Inc. – Dorado, Puerto Rico
  • Alex and Ani – Cranston, R.I.
  • Orgill, Inc. – Memphis, Tenn. 
  • Bioo Scientific Corporation – Austin, Texas
  • Mascoat – Houston, Texas
  • Sage Oil Vac Inc. – Amarillo, Texas
  • Shintech, Inc. – Houston, Texas
  • Optical Cable Corporation – Roanoke, Va.
  • Gamber-Johnson LLC – Stevens Point, Wis.
  • Hydro-Thermal Corporation – Waukesha, Wis.
  • Philips-Medsize – Hudson, Wis.
  • Wheeling Truck Center – Wheeling, W.Va.

 “E” Award for Export Services

  • Meridian Finance Group – Santa Monica, Calif.
  • Western Export Services – Denver, Colo.
  • Reed Exhibitions International Sales Group – Norwalk, Conn.
  • Global Atlanta – Atlanta, Ga.
  • Global Commerce Council of the Metro Atlanta Chamber – Atlanta, Ga.
  • International Freight Forwarders & Customs Brokers Association – Metairie, La.
  • Louisiana Tax Free Shopping – New Orleans, La.
  • S.E.A. Corp. – Lincolnton, N.C.
  • CH Trade LLC – Fargo, N.D.
  • Point of Everett – Everett, Wash. 

 “E” Star Award for Exports

  • It Straps On, Inc. – Covington, La.
  • Ocean Spray Cranberries, Inc. – Lakeville, Mass.
  • Vitamix Corporation – Cleveland, Ohio
  • Polyguard Products – Ennis, Texas

 “E” Star Award for Export Service

  • Mobile Area Chamber of Commerce – Mobile, Ala.
  • National Foreign Trade Council – Washington, D.C.
  • Georgia Department of Economic Development – Atlanta, Ga.
  • Maryland Port Administration – Baltimore, Md.