Local Time: Print

Business in the Nordic Region

The Nordic Region (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden) is a large, the 8th largest economy in the world. The region is considered worldwide to be an excellent test market for new products and easy-to-enter market for new-to-export (NTE) companies. English is widely spoken, business agreements are reliable, and the infrastructure is first rate.

The Nordic countries have close ties to the United States culturally, politically, and historically. The Nordic countries are among the world's wealthiest countries. The Nordic region is dynamic, highly sophisticated marketplace with stable political and economic climate. American high quality products and services as well as state-of-the-art technology are well received.

U.S. Commercial Service Welcomes American Companies to the Nordic Region!

U.S. Department of Commerce (USDOC) has offices in all Nordic countries.  For further information on the other Nordic markets please visit the local web sites listed below.

U.S. Commercial Service Denmark

U.S. Commercial Service Iceland

U.S. Commercial Service Norway

U.S. Commercial Service Sweden

The Nordic Region (Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden) is an attractive and lucrative market for U.S. companies.  The region is also an important trading partner of the United States.  Its 25 million consumers are looking for high-quality and reputable products from abroad.  The region effectively serves as a gateway to the Baltic countries as well as northwest Russia, which increases the number of potential consumers to over 80 million.

U.S. companies active in the Nordic markets rarely encounter trade barriers or market access difficulties.  Each country has its own strengths, but all countries are known for their state-of-the-art infrastructure, efficient telecommunications, transportation and logistics as well as smoothly functioning societies.  The Nordic region is also known for being the leading market of European telecommunications development, especially Finland (Nokia Corporation) and Sweden (Sony-Eriksson).

Denmark, Finland and Sweden are members of the European Union (EU).  Norway is linked to the EU through the European Economic Area (EEA) agreement.  By virtue of the EEA, Norway is practically part of the EU’s single market.  Norway implements most EU directives as a result of its EEA obligations. 

Map of the Nordic Region