Franchising

Franchising

Welcome to our international Franchise page. It provides the most recent market research, trade leads and event information. Our worldwide team of Franchise Specialists is prepared to assist in increasing your presence overseas. Franchise Trade Specialists (see right) are available to discuss your international business needs.

 Email Updates Icon Sign up for Franchising email updates

Franchising Facts

The Franchising industry and businesses employs 21 million people and generates $2.3 trillion of economic activity. A new franchise business opens every 8 minutes of every business day.

Like the United States, franchise businesses around the world have seen steady growth in the past decade, particularly in Brazil, China and Mexico. According to the International Franchise Association (IFA), their members are eyeing overseas expansion as an important way to diversify their portfolios. For instance, a survey of IFA members last Summer, revealed that 61 percent of respondents currently franchise or operate in international locations, and 16 percent generate between 25 percent and 30 percent of revenue from international activities. Almost three fourths of respondents said they plan to start or accelerate international ventures.  

Want more on Franchising?

  • Utilize the Commercial Service to help you find franchisees abroad or to learn the basics on exporting. Contact a Franchise Trade Specialist (see right).
  • Take a look at IFA’s website (www.Franchise.org) for expert advice and tips. 

Key Global Franchise Activities

Please take a look at our calendar of events listed here.

Trade Events:

  • New Orleans IFA Convention (February 22-25)
  • London British and International Franchise Expo (March 14-15)
  • Iraq Trade Mission Baghdad and Erbil (March 16-20)
  • Paris Franchise Trade Show (March 23-26)
  • New York International Franchise Expo (June 19-21)

For additional information on these events, contact your local Franchise Trade Specialist listed above.


Detailed Event Information For Franchise Trade Mission - Middle East Detailed Event Information For Franchise Trade Mission - Middle East
Franchise Trade Mission - Middle East -- Franchising
Location/Date: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates 05/12/2013 - 05/22/2013
Event Summary:
Franchise Trade Mission sponsored by the International Franchise Asociation and Franchise Times will visit Egypt, Qatar, Jordan and UAE in May, 2013. The mission is designed to promote exports of U.S. goods and services using franchising as the primary vehicle. Franchise Times and the IFA are responsible for recruitment.

Contacts:
Ann Bacher, Cairo
Regional Senior Commercial Officer
Phone: 20-2-2797-2298
Ann.Bacher@trade.gov
Robert Bannerman, Dubai
Principal Commercial Officer
Phone: +971-4-309-4963
Robert.Bannerman@trade.gov
Robert Dunn, Doha
Senior Commercial Officer
Phone: 974-4496-6739
Robert.Dunn@trade.gov
Manal El Masry, Abu Dhabi
Commercial Specialist
Phone: +9712 414 2217
Manal.ElMasry@trade.gov
Muna Farkouh, Amman
Senior Commercial Specialist
Phone: 962-6-590-6057
Muna.Farkouh@trade.gov
KL Fredericks, Harlem
USEAC Director
Phone: 212-860-6200
KL.Fredericks@trade.gov
Anissa Lahreche, Doha
Commerce Specialist
Phone: +974-4496-6040
Anissa.Lahreche@trade.gov
Scott Lehr, International Franchise Association

Phone: 202-662-0785
SLehr@franchise.org
Jennifer Loffredo, Pontiac
Senior International Trade Specialist
Phone: 248-452-2254/586-469-6447
Jennifer.Loffredo@trade.gov
Nancy Luther, Cairo
Commercial Officer
Phone: +20 (2) 2792-2426
Nancy.Luther@trade.gov
Cherine Maher, Cairo
Commercial Specialist
Phone: +20(2) 2797-2688
Cherine.Maher@trade.gov
Josh Merin, International Franchise Association

Phone: 202-662-0762
JMerin@franchise.org
Sanford N. Owens, Amman
Senior Commercial Officer
Phone: 962 6 590 6629
Sanford.Owens@trade.gov
Dennis Simmons, Cairo
Deputy Senior Commercial Officer
Phone: +20.2.2797.2610
Dennis.Simmons@trade.gov
Nancy Weingartner, Franchise Times

Phone: 612-767-3207
NancyW@FranchiseTimes.com