Local Time: Print

Spanish Holidays

The Government of Spain publishes a list of holidays every year. This is the list for 2014.

  • January 1 (New Year's Day)
  • January 6 (Epiphany)
  • April 21-22 (Holy Thursday & Good Friday)
  • May 2 (Labor day)
  • June 23 (Corpus Christi)
  • July 25 (St. James)
  • August 15 (Assumption)
  • September 9 (Santa Maria de la Cabeza)
  • October 12 (National Day)
  • November 1 (All Saints' Day)
  • November 9 (La Almudena)
  • December 6 (Constitution Day)
  • December 8 (Inmaculada Concepcion)  

In addition to these national holidays there are many local holidays that vary by region and city. In Madrid: May 2 (Comunidad de Madrid celebration); May 15 (San Isidro celebration); November 9 (La Almudena celebration).

The workdays directly before and after Spanish holidays and vacation periods are not a good time to schedule business meetings. Neither is the month of August nor the several vacation periods around Christmas and Easter. Business hours in Spain are generally 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. Banking hours are 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. during the week, and sometimes Saturday morning. Department stores are generally open 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., Monday through Saturday. To ensure availability, appointments are recommended.

For further information on how our sector specialists can help you open doors to business in Spain, please refer to the specialist in your industry sector or contact us directly madrid.office.box@trade.gov