What is Look South?

LOOK SOUTH is a coordinated Federal Government effort led by the U.S. Department of Commerce to help more American companies “Look South” to do business with and expand sales to dynamic markets including Mexico and our 10 other Free Trade Agreement (FTA) partners in Central and South America.  These 11 economies – Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, and Peru – all have a rapidly growing base of middle-class consumers and diversifying industries. The Look South Initiative will help businesses across the country explore these markets, learn about emerging opportunities, and tap into federal programs, services, and financing that can help companies get deals done.

Look South features our Free Trade Agreement partners in Latin America. For information on all the markets in the Western Hemisphere, please visit our Trade Americas site. 

Discover Global Markets:  Compete, Win, and Grow Your Business through Exporting

The U.S. Commercial Service is proud to announce an unprecedented national series of conferences to help U.S. business compete, win, and grow in the international marketplace.  The Discover Global Markets business conference series provides a unique opportunity to meet one-on-one with U.S. Commercial Diplomats right here in the United States!  Look South countries will be featured in the Charlotte, North Carolina event on Latin America.  In addition to our leading worldwide network of U.S. trade promotion officials, we’ve also gathered experts from the public and private sector to give you the practical information you need to develop an international business plan, learn about the latest industry trends, identify new and emerging markets of opportunity ahead of your competition, and learn about U.S. export programs designed to cut your time to market.  


More Upcoming Events

Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Trade Policy Mission to Peru – November 4-5, 2014

AS/COA Latin American Cities Conference -
November 21, 2014


Tampa Bay Export Alliance Trade Mission to Chile -
December 1-5, 2014

Florida Export Development Mission to Peru –
March 23-25, 2015

Look South Countries Logo
Look South - Newsletter Subscription Button